2017 Australia Day Honours

Congratulations to Georgian The Honorable Eric Ripper (1969) and former College Board member The Very Reverend Dr John Shepherd, who were both appointed Members of the Order of Australia (OAM).

Mr Ripper received the AM for for significant service to the people and Parliament of Western Australia, particularly through budgetary reform, native title policy, and energy sector developments. This service includes:

  • Leader of the Opposition, 2008-2012 and Deputy Leader, 1996-2001.
  • Deputy Premier and Treasurer, 2001-2008
  • Acting Premier, 2006
  • Member for Belmont, Western Australian Legislative Assembly, 1988-2013
  • Minister for State Development, 2006-2008
  • Minister for Government Enterprises and Minister Assisting the Minister for Public Sector Management, 2005-2006
  • Minister for Energy, 2001-2005
  • Minister for Community Services, and Disability Services, 1991-1993
  • Spokesperson on Native Title, Labor Party (Western Australia), 1999-2012
  • Chairman, GRA Everingham, since 2013
  • Board Member, FolkWorld Inc, since 2013
  • Deputy Chair, Mental Health Advisory Council, since 2014

Dr Shepherd, who was a College Board member from 1992-1999, received the AM for significant service to the Anglican Church of Australia through senior liturgical roles, and to the community. This service includes: 

  • Dean, Anglican Diocese of Perth, Anglican Church of Australia, 1990-2014
  • Priest, St George's Cathedral, 1990-2014 and Chair, Cathedral Restoration Task Force, 2000-2014 and Chair, St George's Cathedral Council for the Arts, 1996-2014
  • Founder, Centre for Spirituality, 2003
  • Founder, St George's Cathedral Education Centre, 2001
  • Chaplain and Music Lecturer, UWA, 1988-1990
  • Chaplain and Music and Theology Tutor, Christ Church Oxford, UK, 1980-1988
  • Member, Rotary Club of Perth, since 1992